1 A McMaster Evette

Republicans win big in Lexington County and statewide

Republicans won all statewide offices on the ballot in Tuesday’s election.

Republican Henry McMaster, with Lt. Gov. Pamela Evette, won re-election, defeating Joe Cunningham/Tally Parham Casey. About 65% of Lexington County voters cast their ballot for McMaster/Evette. The Democrat candidates received about 34% of the vote.

Republican Tim Scott was re-elected as US Senator with 71% of the Lexington County vote over Democrat Krystle Matthews, who received 29% of the Lexington County vote.

Republican US House Rep. Joe Wilson received 69% of the Lexington County vote over Democrat Judd Larkins, who got 31% in Lexington County.

Republican Curtis Loftis, of West Columbia, was re-elected State Treasurer with 83% of the Lexington County vote compared to 17% of the vote for Democrat Sarah Work.

Republican Ellen Weaver won the State Education Superintendent race with 60% of the Lexington County vote over Democrat Lisa Ellis who received 34% of the county’s vote.

Other statewide races that Republicans won were: Hugh Weathers (Agriculture); Mark Hammond (Sec. of State); Richard Eckstrom (Comptroller General); and Alan Wilson (Attorney General.)

In State House races, Republican Micah Caskey of Springdale, who was unopposed, won; Republican RJ May defeated Democrat Daniel Shrief for House Seat 88; Republican Jim Ulmer defeated incumbent Democrat Russell Ott (House Seat 93); Republican Cal Forrest won (House Seat 39); Republican Bill Taylor won House Seat 56 unopposed; Chris Wooten won House Seat 69 unopposed; Nathan Ballentine won House Seat 71 unopposed; Joe White won House Seat 40, unopposed.

Dan Eckstrom was re-elected Probate Judge.

Winners in Lexington County Council races were: Todd Cullum (Cayce-Dist. 9); Glen Conwell (West Columbia-Dist. 8); Beth Carigg (Dist. 7); Larry Brigham (Dist. 2.)

In Lexington County, Almost 73% of all Straight Party voters were GOP. (Cullum and Conwell photos below)

Comments are closed.

Share This