Lexington Two announces its Rookie-Teachers-of-the-Year

Lexington Two announced its Rookie Teachers of the Year during a celebration for first-year teachers and their school mentors.

Among the 53 Lexington Two induction teachers in the 2023-2024 school year, those recognized as Rookie Teachers of the Year are:

  • Early Childhood: Ashlyn Jones, Riverbank Elementary School
  • Elementary: Brooke Hiatt, Cayce Elementary School
  • Middle: Sarah Campbell Harllee, Busbee Creative Arts Academy
  • High: Kurpa Darji, Brookland-Cayce High School

Hiatt, a fourth grade LAUNCH teacher,  was also selected as Lexington Two’s District Rookie Teacher of the Year.

“This year’s induction teachers come from a variety of backgrounds and paths to becoming educators,” said Dr. Angela Cooper, chief human resources and organizational development officer, whose department oversees the program.  “As they near completion of their first year in Lexington Two, I could not be more grateful for their dedication and commitment to shaping the future of our students.”

Rookie Teachers of the Year are nominated by their principals based on their professionalism in the classroom and in meeting the needs of their Lexington Two students.

Lexington Two Rookie Teachers of the Year, from left: Early Childhood Ashlyn Jones, Riverbank Elementary School; High School Kurpa Darji, Brookland-Cayce High School; Middle Sarah Campbell Harllee, Busbee Creative Arts Academy, and Elementary and District Rookie Teacher of the Year Brooke Hiatt, Cayce Elementary School.

Comments are closed.

Share This