Filing closes, lots of contested Lexington County races

From coroner and state House seats to Register of Deeds and 11th Circuit Solicitor, there are lots of Election-001candidates running in the 2016 election cycle. Sheriff Jay Koon did not get an opponent, but Sen. Katrina Shealy got two challengers. Sen. Nikki Setzler of West Columbia has an opponent and five candidates are running for state House Seat 89. Four Republicans and a Democrat. Coroner Margaret Fisher has two opponents and US Rep. Joe Wilson has two Democrats opposing him, and an American Party Challenger.  County Council seats one, three, four, five and six, are up this year, and each incumbent council member has at least one challenger.

The clerk of court and register of deeds incumbents are not running, so those offices drew lots of candidates.

The candidate filing period in Lexington County began March 16, for local and state offices. It closed Wednesday (March 30.)  Primaries are scheduled for June 14. If there are runoff elections, those would be held June 28. The General Election is Nov. 8.

Democrat or other party affiliations are denoted. All others are Republican. “I” denotes incumbent.

The list of Lexington County filers:

County Council

District 1: Jim Kinard (I) and Scotty Whetstone

District 3: Kent Collins (I), Darrell Hudson, Brad Matthews and Colin Thain

District 4: Debbie Summers (I) and Gene Wilbur

District 5: Brian Duncan and Bobby Keisler (I)

District 6: Erin Long Bergeson, Ronald Derrick, Benjamin Stitely and Dino Teppara


Auditor: Chris Harmon (I)


Clerk of Court: Lisa Comer, Emily Hinson and Mollie Taylor


Coroner: Margaret Fisher (I) and Glenn Ross, Constitution Party Frank Barron


Register of Deeds: Rich Bolen, Mike Green, Dan Gregory, Tina Guerry and Joyce Munsch


Sheriff: Jay Koon (I)


11th Circuit Solicitor: Republicans Rick Hubbard, Candice Lively and Larry Wedekind


Treasurer: Jim Eckstrom (I)


U.S. House of Representatives

Second District: Democrats: Arik Bjorn and Phil Black, American Party Eddie McCain,

Joe Wilson (I).


S.C. Senate

District 23: Katrina Shealy (I), Michael Sturkie and Patricia Wheat

District 26: Democrat Nikki Setzler (I), Republican Brad Lindsey


S.C. House of Representatives

District 39: Cal Forrest and Ralph Kennedy (I), Democrat Tillman Gives

District 69: Ryan Holt and Rick Quinn (I), Democrat Michael Petrone

District 85: Bryan Clifton and Chip Huggins (I)

District 87: Todd Atwater (I)

District 88: David Busby and Mac Toole (I)

District 89: Bill Banning, Micah Caskey, Tem Miles and Billy Oswald, Democrat Rosemounda “Peggy” Butler, Constitution Party Robert Lampley

District 96: Perry Finch and Kit Spires (I), Democrat Robert Vanlue

Comments are closed.

Share This